The Presbyterian congregation in St. Augustine was organized in June 1824, during the Territorial Period of Florida’s history. Through the efforts of Reverend Dr. William McWhir, a minister with the Presbytery of Georgia, fourteen members formed the Presbyterian congregation. With the congregation operating on its own, Dr. McWhir returned to Georgia. The congregation immediately began making plans to construct a house of worship, and in January 1825, construction began on a sanctuary and continued for five years. The cost of the building totaled $5,000 with an additional $500 for the property on South St. George Street (located across the street from the current Cathedral Parish School gymnasium). By 1830, the building was finished and the congregation continues to grow its membership.
Over the years the church building served many needs within the community. During the Civil War, the Union army used the building for military purposes and services were not held in the building. At the end of the war, the church resumed weekly services. In 1866 the church purchased an existing home at the corner of Hypolita and St. George Streets to serve as the home of the minister and his family. The location placed the minister in a prominent location in the old city, reflective of the minister’s place in St. Augustine society. The Manse (term used for the residence of the Presbyterian minister) hosted a number of important visitors to the city as well as local organizations.
32 Sevilla Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
ALBUQUERQUE LITTLE THEATRE
Fort Mose Historic State Park is the site of the first legally sanctioned free African settlement in what is now the United States. In 1738, the Spanish governor of Florida chartered the settlement of Gracia Real de Santa Teresa de Mose, or Fort Mose for short, as a settlement for those fleeing slavery from the English colonies in the Carolinas. Over the next 25 years, Fort Mose and Spanish Saint Augustine became a sanctuary for Africans seeking liberation from the tyranny of English slavery.
For half a century, visitors to St. Augustine have made the St. Augustine/St. Johns County Visitor Information Center their first stop upon arriving in the Nation’s Oldest City. Commonly known as the “VIC,” the center offers information on special and cultural events, brochures and guidebooks for the area's attractions, clean restrooms, a gift shop. The VIC is staffed with friendly fully licensed tour guide hosts who gladly share information on attractions, museums, tours, accommodations, restaurants and unique shopping opportunities. The VIC is where a St. Augustine vacation begins, whether you plan to stay a day, a weekend or longer.