Father O'Reilly House Museum

Father O'Reilly House Museum

The Father O’Reilly House Museum was built during the first Spanish period and is one of the oldest structures in St. Augustine, situated in the oldest continuously settled neighborhood. Made of tabby and coquina, the building was constructed in 1691 and purchased by Father Miguel O’Reilly in 1785. The Irish priest served under the Spanish crown and transformed the building into a place of spirituality and education to preserve old Catholic values. The Father O’Reilly House was left to the Sisters of St. Joseph who have preserved the museum since 1866. Located on historic Aviles Street, the museum focuses on the history of the house, the Catholic tradition kept alive in 1565, and the story of the Sisters of St. Joseph.

This museum is rich in history and shows guests exactly how Saint Augustine looked in the days of Father Miguel O’Reilly. There is a beautiful garden and six rooms in the house, all of which are open to the public. The museum highlights the city’s history with artifacts like musical instruments, old lesson plans, and documentation of the Catholic tradition. Open to the public since 2003, admission for the museum is free, but donations are gratefully accepted. The Father O’Reilly House Museum has a virtual tour available here.

LOCATION

Father O'Reilly House Museum

32 Aviles Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084

ALBUQUERQUE LITTLE THEATRE

  • ico-y-knife.pngCheese Coffee Caf Downtown
  • ico-y-knife.pngLiu Chinese Fast Food
  • ico-y-knife.pngVinaigrette
  • ico-y-knife.pngGarcias Kitchen The Original
  • ico-y-knife.pngRoute 66 Malt Shop
  • ico-y-knife.pngBottger Mansion of Old Town
  • ico-y-wscreen.pngBottger Mansion of Old Town
  • ico-y-wscreen.pngLiu Chinese Fast Food
  • ico-y-wscreen.pngBottger Mansion of Old Town
  • ico-y-wscreen.pngLiu Chinese
  • ico-y-wscreen.pngVinaigrette

PARKING INFO

Paid public parking on St. George Street

PUBLIC HOURS

Open Wednesday through Saturday 10AM-3PM

PUBLIC ADMISSION FEES

Admission is free.

Donations accepted.

Contact information

    Email
/
    Website
/
    Facebook
/

   

  

Featured Venues

Fort Mose Historic State Park

fort-moseFort Mose Historic State Park is the site of the first legally sanctioned free African settlement in what is now the United States. In 1738, the Spanish governor of Florida chartered the settlement of Gracia Real de Santa Teresa de Mose, or Fort Mose for short, as a settlement for those fleeing slavery from the English colonies in the Carolinas. Over the next 25 years, Fort Mose and Spanish Saint Augustine became a sanctuary for Africans seeking liberation from the tyranny of English slavery.

St. Augustine Visitor Information Center (VIC)

visitor-centerFor half a century, visitors to St. Augustine have made the St. Augustine/St. Johns County Visitor Information Center their first stop upon arriving in the Nation’s Oldest City. Commonly known as the “VIC,” the center offers information on special and cultural events, brochures and guidebooks for the area's attractions, clean restrooms, a gift shop. The VIC is staffed with friendly fully licensed tour guide hosts who gladly share information on attractions, museums, tours, accommodations, restaurants and unique shopping opportunities. The VIC is where a St. Augustine vacation begins, whether you plan to stay a day, a weekend or longer.